School of Information Scholarships for Current Students


MLIS students must have successfully completed the four required core courses (INFO 200, INFO 202, INFO 203, INFO 204); have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5; and cannot be in their last semester in the program.

MARA students must have successfully completed the technology workshop  and either: MARA 200 and MARA 204 OR MARA 210  and one  MLIS elective; have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5; and cannot be in their last semester in the program.

Application Process and Deadlines

Interested students should complete and submit the iSchool Scholarship Application Form.  Applications will be accepted between March 1 and March 30 for Spring scholarships. Scholarship recipients are notified beginning the third Monday in April for Spring. Scholarships awarded in the Spring will be dispersed toward a recipient's Fall fees. View names of recent past iSchool Scholarship recipients. Also listen to scholarship winners.

Scholarships Awarded by the iSchool

Alumni & Friends Scholarship, endowed by the iSchool Alumni Association to provide scholarships for iSchool students. One scholarship at $1,000 is awarded in Spring.

ARMA (Golden Gate) Scholarship: Only for students in the Master of Archives and Records Administration (MARA) program. Applicants must be in the program as part of a going back to school plan to further their career in the field. One scholarship at $1000; one scholarship at $500. Awarded in Spring.

The Golden Gate Chapter of ARMA International, which serves the San Francisco Bay Area, has nearly 130 members representing a diverse group of large and small businesses, government agencies, law firms, pharmaceuticals, finance, utilities, and non profit organizations.

ARMA (Silicon Valley Chapter) Scholarship:  Only for students in the Master of Archives and Records Administration (MARA) program. Applicants must have successfully completed one semester in the MARA program. Two scholarships at $500 each. Awarded in Spring

The primary purpose of the Chapter is to promote and advance the improvement of records and information administration and management and related fields through study, education, and research.The meetings are generally held in the Santa Clara Valley at various locations and cover a range of topics. 

ARMA Pacific Region MARA Scholarship: Only for students in the Master of Archives and Records Administration (MARA) program. Students must be enrolled part time in the MARA program and must have successfully completed one semester in the MARA program. There are two scholarships for $500 awarded in the Spring.

• Blanche Woolls Spectrum Scholarship, endowed in honor of Dr. Blanche Woolls, former professor and director from 1997-2005. $1,000 for a student already holding a Spectrum scholarship from the American Library Association. Awarded in Spring.

Dr. Woolls is the author of numerous school library publications, and is a past president of the American Association of School Librarians and the International Association of School Librarianship.

Faculty Scholarship, endowed by the iSchool Faculty to provide an annual scholarship for a iSchool student, $1,000. Awarded in Spring.

Global Impact Scholarship. For students who demonstrate a strong commitment toward using skills as an information professional to impact global communities and organizations. One scholarship at $1000. Awarded in Spring.

• Graduate Student Scholarship: Funds from donations. Students cannot be in their first semester. One scholarship at $1000. Awarded in Spring.

• H.W. Wilson Scholarship, endowed by the H.W. Wilson Foundation. One scholarship at $1,000 is awarded in Spring.

Established in 1952, the H.W. Wilson Foundation supports libraries, library associations, historical societies, cultural programs and scholarships for library and information science programs accredited by the American Library Association.

• Kaiser Permanente Medical Librarianship Scholarship, endowed by Kaiser Permanente to support candidates interested in a career in medical librarianship and health informatics, $1,000. Awarded in Spring.

Kaiser Permanente Permanente’s Health Sciences Libraries have grown into a national network of thirty-six on-site libraries. Kaiser librarians have consistently been at the forefront of encouraging the use of the latest technology to provide clinicians needed information resources.

• Leppe Scholarship 

Established in 2014, the scholarship was endowed in honor of Louis C. Leppe, a southern California pharmacist, whose daughters, both teachers, were graduates of San Jose State University. "We would like for whoever receives this scholarship to know what a kind and generous man our dad was. We wish the recipients fulfillment of their dreams." - Trustee, Dolores Daniels. One scholarship of $1000, awarded in Spring.

• Librarian Opportunity Scholarship, endowed by Diana Lee Morabito and Keith Ball in support of the important part played by libraries in their life and education. Preference will be given to students who can demonstrate financial need. $1000. Awarded in Spring.

• Robert Ellett Scholarship: Funds provided by Janice Wakimoto in memory of Dr. Robert Ellett. Students must have completed a cataloging class (INFO 248). Two scholarships at $1000 each awarded in Spring 2016 for Fall 2016 classes. Two scholarships at $1000 each.awarded in Fall 2016 for Spring 2017 classes.

Ellett started teaching in the School’s fully online Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) program in 2004. He taught beginning and advanced courses in cataloging and organization of information. His colleagues and former students praised him for his passion for teaching and dedication to his students. In addition to his role as a lecturer with SJSU iSchool  Ellett was the Catalog Librarian at the Joint Forces Staff College, located in Norfolk, Virginia, since 1989. He also designed several training courses and workshops for local and national library conferences, including serving as an instructor for FEDLINK's original cataloging and authority control workshops.

• Terry Crowley Scholarship, endowed in honor of Dr. Terry Crowley, former iSchool professor emeritus specializing in reference and information services, one scholarship of $1,000. Awarded in Spring.

• Thea Estreicher Memorial Scholarship: Must be a part-time student and pursuing a career in public librarianship. $1000 awarded in Spring.

Thea Estreicher worked in and was greatly impacted by the work of public libraries and librarians. 


Note: Friends of Leisure World Library Scholarship is not awarded by the iSchool, but applications are administered through the scholarships drop box on the iSchool Advising and Administration course site on Canvas. Before you submit your application, please make sure you are qualified, by reading the eligibility requirements.