iSchool ALASC Named ALA Student Chapter of the Year for 2009


Congratulations to The American Library Association Student Chapter (ALASC) at the San José State University School of Information for being honored as the ALA Student Chapter of the Year for 2009.

“The committee applauds ALASC’s hard work in each of the seven categories related to the Student Chapter of the Year Award,” the ALA New Members Round Table said in its announcement. The ALA singled out the group’s “excellent use of Web 2.0 technology” to involve iSchool students around the world, the involvement of chapter officers in professional organizations at the national and state level, and the “laudable” quantity and quality of chapter programs.

The school’s ALA Student Chapter doubled the number of students involved in chapter activities over the last year. The group connects with students through its blog, as well as through social networking tools such as Facebook, YouTube, Flickr, and the School’s social network, SLISLife. The chapter also hosts virtual world events and activities in Second Life, and it publishes a bi–monthly newsletter, the SLIS Descriptor.

ALASC hosts seminars, library tours, and events. They broadcast seminars via Elluminate web conferencing software, including an Emerging Technologies Symposium and Luminary Lectures that explore important aspects of library and information science. Recent speakers include Patty Wong, County Librarian for Yolo County Library, who spoke about libraries and community outreach, and Susan Hanks, president of the American Indian Library Association, who spoke about her work with tribal libraries.

The award includes a $1,000 grant to be used towards travel costs for ALASC officers to attend the 2009 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. A certificate of recognition will be presented at the New Members Round Table awards reception.

Congratulations to the ALASC officers (listed below), to Debbie Faires, iSchool ALASC Faculty Advisor, and to all the SLIS students whose involvement and participation make ALASC the best ALA Student Chapter.

  • Chair – Heather Devine
  • Co–chair and Web Coordinator – David Gross
  • Program Coordinator and New Student Outreach Coordinator – Gayle Pellizzer
  • Newsletter Editor – Abby Dansiger
  • Treasurer Spring 09 – Amanda Grundmann
  • Treasurer Fall 08 – Jeffra Bussman