Advisory Board Members and Alumna Awarded High Honors at SLA Conference


The San José State University (SJSU) School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) is proud to announce that two of its advisory board members and a distinguished alumna have received some of the highest honors in the field presented by the Special Libraries Association.

Anne Caputo and Jane Dysart, both of whom serve on the International Advisory Council at SJSU SLIS, were inducted into the SLA Hall of Fame at the awards presentation at the conference on June 8, 2014. Hall of Fame induction is meant to recognize distinguished service and contributions to the association or to an SLA chapter or division that has in turn contributed to the success of the association. Caputo and Dysart have both served terms as SLA president in the past.

Libby Trudell, who serves on the school’s Center for Information Research and Innovation (CIRI) Advisory Board, was recognized with the SLA Rose L. Vormelker Award for her work teaching and mentoring students or working professionals. Trudell was named an SLA Fellow in 2010.

SJSU SLIS alumna Cindy Hill was awarded the SLA John Cotton Dana award at the conference in recognition of her lifetime of achievement and her contributions to the SLA and to the library and information science profession. The John Cotton Dana Award is the most prestigious awarded by the SLA. Like Caputo and Dysart, Hill is also a past president of the SLA.  

Recognizing the prestige associated with the SLA awards, Dr. Sandra Hirsh, SJSU SLIS director, enthusiastically said, “I feel privileged to have them on our Advisory Board and am sincerely grateful for their commitment to our school, and to the profession as a whole. SLIS is proud to work with these impressive leaders!”

The SLA conference is taking place now through June 10 in Vancouver, BC.