Scholarships Allow Students to Experiment with New Programs and Technology
iSchool Awards $90,000 in Scholarships for Spring 2023 Semester


San Jose State University’s School of Information has awarded scholarships to 12 current students and 18 new students enrolled in its master’s degree programs for the spring 2023 semester. Each scholarship is valued at $3,000.

Current Students Receive a Total of $36,000 in Scholarships

Jessica Lee is grateful for having been selected for one of the Special Session scholarships for current students. “Receiving this scholarship meant I could select the courses I originally wanted to take and ensure I wouldn’t have to delay the time it would take for me to finish this program,” Lee explains. Lee’s scholarship presentation focused on how an E-sports lab at high school libraries can encourage students to express creativity and build skills such as “programming, teamwork and management.” Working with technology is what “drew” Lee to the Master in Library and Information Science degree program at the SJSU School of Information.

Excerpt from Jessica Lee's scholarship application

Lee’s peer, Erin Robinson, also received a Special Session scholarship. Robinson states her admiration for libraries started at “an early age with summer reading programs.” From there Robinson completed a Library Technician program at Long Beach City College and an Archives and Digital Collections Assistant certificate from Pasadena City College. “These were all building blocks that led me to apply to the MLIS program at SJSU,” says Robinson. Robinson plans to earn her Post-Master’s Certificate in Digital Archives and Records Management after completing the MLIS program. “I have made wonderful connections with professors and classmates,” Robinson states.

The Special Session scholarships for current students were awarded to: Jason Balistreri, Susan Bijan, Kathrina Johnson, Ann Krebs, Shih Ying (Jessica) Lee, Antonio Reza, Morgan Roberts, Erin Robinson, Nicole SaBell-Stoltz, Eori Tokunaga, Jennifer Volland and Sue Jean Woodmansee.

New Students Receive a Total of $54,000 in Scholarships

Stacey Nerdin scholarship excerptStacey Nerdin, one of the recipients of the Special Session scholarships for new students, chose to attend the iSchool for its “great reputation” and “flexibility.” She is excited to embark on her path to a career in librarianship. Nerdin shares, “I have always believed that stories, information, and knowledge are what connects us to each other and makes life richer and more meaningful. I want to take this personal passion of mine and translate it into a profession with an MLIS degree.” Nerdin currently volunteers at a local library indexing local history files and “is drawn” to the archives and preservation pathway.

The Special Session scholarships for new students were awarded to: Christina Acevedo, Homeyra Banaeefar, Amy C. Cory, Queenie Don, Natali Carmona Guzman, Mikaela Lee-Garcia, David Mansfield, Stephanie Nahua, Stacey Nerdin, Kashmir Palencia, Aryn Prestia, Kendra Moss Saffie, Marina Smolens, Rachel Syme, Diana Umana, Nicholas Urruty, Adina Serapia Vega and Markie Zobel.

The fall 2023 scholarship applications are open. The deadline to apply for scholarships is May 1, 2023. Special Session scholarships are available to current students and newly enrolled students in the iSchool’s programs: MLIS Special Session, Master of Archives and Administration, Master of Science in Informatics, and Bachelor of Science in Information Science and Data Analytics.