SJSU School of Information Faculty Receive Multiple 2008 ALISE Awards


The Association for Library and Information Science (ALISE) gave two awards to the faculty of the San José State University School of Information in the teaching and service category. The School has received the 2008 ALISE Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award.

Linda MainDebbie FairesThe Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award honored professor Linda Main, iSchool associate director, and lecturer Debbie Faires, iSchool assistant director for distance learning, with special recognition for their leadership in applying emerging technologies in a Web-based learning environment.

Dr. Haycock noted, “under their leadership, the school has continued to plan strategically for technological innovation, to assess carefully program and student outcomes and to determine alternative approaches for teaching, learning and fiscal management.” Debbie Faires writes: “Technology innovation at the iSchool is very much a team effort. We have the best tech team at SJSU. They continually come up with new ideas and the ability to implement them. We have innovative faculty who are effective in how they put the technology to work in their classes.”

Ken HaycockProfessor Ken Haycock, director of the School of Information at SJSU, was awarded the 2008 ALISE Service to the Association for Library and Information Science Education. Dr. Haycock was cited for his specific contributions to ALISE as president in 2006.