MARA Elective Clusters


MARA Elective Clusters

As a MARA student, you are required to complete 12 units from electives. Only 9 may be from outside of MARA (MLIS or Informatics).  3 must be MARA electives. You can select from:

  • More than 40 pre-approved MLIS (INFO) 3-unit courses
  • Variable unit MLIS courses with prior approval from the MARA advisor
  • Any combination of MARA 1-, 2- and 3-unit courses

However, if you’re seeking more focused guidance in selecting your electives, we encourage you to consider one of the five elective clusters presented here: 

No special designations appear on your transcript or diploma. All students earn the MARA degree.

If you follow one of the first three elective clusters (Data Analytics and Data Driven Decision Making; Digital Assets Management; or Information Governance, Assurance and Security) you can earn both your master’s degree and an advanced certificate from San José State University! See additional information about the Digital Assets Certificate on this web page.


Digital Curation — MARA Elective Cluster

Electives focus on the selection, collection, maintenance, preservation, and archiving of digital assets. (Prerequisites are waived for MARA students.)​

MARA students are required to take one of the courses included in this cluster in order to earn the Digital Assets Certificate: MARA 283: Enterprise Content Management and Digital Preservation, which does not count toward the 12 units of elective requirement.


Cultural Heritage — MARA Elective Cluster

Electives focus on organizing, describing, interpreting, managing, preserving, and providing access to materials created in the present and inherited from the past to share culture, values and traditions with future generations. (Prerequisites are waived for MARA students.)​